My Interview Last Week

A young man stumbles into a room, his hair in a mess and his shirt untucked. In the room behind a large desk sits another man. A tag on the desk reads M. Lam, Director.

“I’m so sorry, traffic was busy and there was this weird thing…I ran to get here, I know there’s no excuse, I’m so sorry…”

“Catch your breath there, it’s alright, take a seat! Catch your breath!”

“I’m so sorry…”

“So you ready to start?”

“Yes. Yes I am.”

“Alrighty. Could you tell me a bit about yourself.”

“Sure. I graduated from City U majoring in Graphic Design, with first-class honors. I started off working freelance, getting…”

“Sorry to interrupt, have you ever done anything for Shermaine?”

“Shermaine?”

“Yes, Shermaine Lee.”

“No….no I haven’t.”

“Ah, good, good. I can’t stand that woman. Her voice just gets on my nerves. She just has that kind of voice, you know?”

“Oh…yeah, I know what you’re talking about, haha…”

“Yeah, you know? Sorry, please continue.”

“…well then I was recruited by a large advertising agency and work became more stable, I couldn’t do the freelance thing forever, it’s not exactly a highway to heaven. So then I was in charge of…”

“Do you believe in dinosaurs?”

“……Do I believe in dinosaurs?”

“Yeah, dinosaurs. You know, rawwrrr.”

“Err…I guess I do. Actually I didn’t think it was a matter of belief.”

“Why not?”

“I just thought it was scientifically proven.”

“Yes it is, but you can still not believe it. Right?”

“Errr…..yeah…”

“So, do you think they could breathe fire?”

“Huh?”

“Breathe fire. You know, foooooooo”

“Um…..I’m aware what fire-breathing looks like, but…maybe you got them mixed up with dragons?”

“I don’t understand what you mean.”

“Um, I think dragons are the fire-breathing creatures, not dinosaurs.”

“….Are you sure?”

“Yes….unless final fantasy is lying, hahaha….er…”

“Hmmm….then what did dinosaurs do?”

“They just….kind of walked around, I guess.”

“Just walked around?”

“Yeah…”

“That’s a bit boring isn’t it.”

“I guess it is.”

“Hmmm”

“…….”

“…….”

“…….”

“You mean like this?” (Gets up and flaps his arms like a bird)

“…….” (Eyes darting around) “Um….I don’t think dinosaurs flew.”

“Yes they did, I’ve seen pictures of them flying around.”

“There were flying creatures back in those times, but technically they weren’t dinosaurs.”

“What were they then?”

“I dunno, I’m not a palaentologist.” (Getting angry)

“Got an attitude there.”

“I’m sorry.”

“We don’t want none of that here.”

“I’m very sorry.”

“What we need here is a team player, not an individualist with an attitude.”

“I’m sorry I just got carried away. I’m so sorry.”

(Laughs) “It’s alright, I was just kidding.”

“Oh hahahaha”

“I’m not that mean.”

“Hahaha, right…ok…”

“……”

“So these flying dinosaurs, did they breathe fire?”

“……Yes.”

“Wow.”

This entry was posted in Short story, Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to My Interview Last Week

  1. Chai says:

    foooooo!

  2. Alf says:

    hahahaha is this for real??? WOW!!

Leave a Reply

